List of Asia Cup winning Captains

List of Asia Cup winning Captains
List of Asia Cup winning Captains

The Asia Cup, a biennial cricket tournament, has been a stage for intense rivalries and memorable battles among the best teams in the Asian continent. Over the years, several captains have had the privilege of lifting the prestigious trophy, leading their teams to glory and etching their names in the cricketing history of the region. In this article, we take a look at the list of Asia Cup winning Captains.

India is the most successful team of Asia Cup, winning the title a record 8 times followed by Sri Lanka with 6 titles.

Asia Cup 2016
Asia Cup winning captains – MS Dhoni

One of India’s most successful captains, M.S. Dhoni, led the team to Asia Cup victories in 2010 and 2016. Dhoni’s leadership during high-pressure moments played a crucial role in India’s success in limited-overs cricket.

Sri Lanka’s cricketing maestro, Arjuna Ranatunga, guided his team to Asia Cup glory in 1997. Ranatunga played a pivotal role in shaping Sri Lanka’s rise as a cricketing powerhouse in the 1990s.

Asia Cup winning captains - arjuna ranatunga
Asia Cup winning captains – arjuna ranatunga

In 2018, Rohit Sharma took the reins of the Indian team for Asia Cup and led them to a successful Asia Cup campaign. Sharma’s aggressive captaincy and prolific batting performances played a key role in securing the trophy for India. After being appointed as the full time skipper of team India, Rohit again led Indian team to glory in 2023 Asia Cup.

india won asia cup 2023
india won asia cup 2023

In the third edition of the Asia Cup in 1988, India emerged victorious under the captaincy of Dilip Vengsarkar. The tournament showcased Vengsarkar’s ability to lead a team in big tournaments.

These captains not only led their teams to Asia Cup victories but also left an enduring legacy of leadership and success in the hearts of cricket fans across the continent. The Asia Cup continues to be a platform where leadership is tested, and the captains who guide their teams to victory become part of the tournament’s storied history. As the tournament goes on, new leaders aim to add their names to this illustrious list of Asia Cup-winning captains.

Asia Cup winning Captains List

Year Winner        Captain
2023 India Rohit Sharma
2022 Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka
2018 India Rohit Sharma
2016 India MS Dhoni
2014 Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews
2012 Pakistan Misbah-ul-Haq
2010 India MS Dhoni
2008 Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardene
2004 Sri Lanka Marvan Atapattu
2000 Pakistan Moin Khan
1997 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1995 India Mohammad Azharuddin
1990/91 India Mohammad Azharuddin
1988 India Dilip Vengsarkar
1986 Sri Lanka Duleep Mendis
1984 India Sunil Gavaskar