Ranking the Top 10 Centuries in IPL history

Ranking the Top 10 Centuries in IPL history
Ranking the Top 10 Centuries in IPL history

In the world of cricket, scoring a century is a commendable achievement for any player. A century shows the class of an individual as well as contributes to the team’s success. It is quite usual to score a century in test match or ODI. But a player scoring a century in T20 format is quite amazing. Even the fans are amazed to see a century scored by batsman in 20 overs match. If we talk about IPL, there have been many instances where batsmen have reached the milestone of a century.  In IPL , scoring a century requires exceptional skill, temperament, and adaptability. Let’s rank the Top 10 centuries in IPL history.

Top 10 Centuries in IPL history

10. Wriddhiman Saha – 115* against Kolkata Knight Riders

Wriddhiman Saha century against KKR
Century in IPL final – Wriddhiman Saha

The only reason to keep this century by Saha in our Top 10 IPL centuries list is that it has been scored in the final match of the tournament. In the final of IPL 2014, Wriddhiman Saha (Kings XI Punjab) scored a ton against KKR(Kolkata Knight Riders). It was the first ever IPL century scored in the final of the tourament. Unfortunately, Saha’s ton went in vain and Punjab lost the final against KKR. Saha scored 115 runs off just 55 balls hitting 10 fours and 8 sixes.

9. Shubman Gill – 104* against Royal Challengers Bangalore

Top10 IPL centuries - Gill against RCB
Top10 IPL centuries – Gill against RCB

The first eliminator of IPL 2023 was played between RCB and GT. Gujarat defeated Bangalore owing to the fabulous century by youngster Shubman Gill. This century was special because it overshadowed the century scored by King Kohli. In the same match, Kohli also scored a ton for RCB. However, Gill scored a faster ton while chasing and took his team to next round.

8. Virat Kohli – 109 against Gujarat Lions

<yoastmark class=

Virat Kohli has scored a total of 7 centuries in Indian Premier League. So its obvious that he will be getting a place in the list of Top 10 IPL Centuries. This was King Kohli’s third century. It is quite rememberable because it was scored by him while playing in RCB’s green jersey. Ab De Villiers also scored a century in the same match against Gujarat Lions. Both of them shattered the bowlers of opposition team.

7. Ab De Villiers – 129* against Gujarat Lions

IPL centuries List
IPL centuries List – Ab De Villiers against Gujrat Lions

Here comes the destroyer of bowlers, Mr. 360. AB de Villiers crafted a masterpiece for RCB against the Gujarat Lions in 2016. ABD was unstoppable that day as he played a breathtaking innings of 129 not out, guiding his team to a total of 243 runs. He played with an unbelievable strike rate of 248.

6. Virat Kohli – 113 against Punjab Kings

Virat Kohli IPL runs year by year
virat kohli ipl 2016

In IPL 2016, Kohli sustained a split webbing on his left hand while fielding against KKR and got a few stiches. Then in the match against PBKS, the match was limited to 15 overs a side due to rain. Virat Kohli did what nobody could have imagined and scored a century in 15 overs match. It was his fourth century in a single IPL season. What made this Kohli’s century more memorable is his celebration. Kohli pointed at the stitches and celebrated his century in aggression.

5. Shane Watson – 117* against Sunrisers Hyderabad

Century in IPL Final - Shane Watson against SRH
Century in IPL Final – Shane Watson against SRH

In the history of IPL, only two batsmen have scored centuries in final of the tournament. Wriddhiman Saha (Kings XI Punjab) scored the first one in 2014. The second one was scored by Shane Watson (Chennai Super Kings) against SRH (Sunrisers Hyderabad) in the final of IPL 2018. It was a match-winning performance as he scored 117 runs off 57 balls while chasing the target.

4. Rishabh Pant – 128* against Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL centuries List
IPL centuries List – Rishabh Pant against SRH

Rishabh Pant’s century against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 was special for several reasons. Firstly, it showcased Pant’s exceptional talent and potential as a young cricketer. In IPL 2018, Pant was relatively new to the international and IPL stage. Delhi lost wickets at an early stage. Pant came and took the responsibility of guiding his team towards a good total. Pant constructed his innings well and displayed a wide array of shots. The sixes against Bhuvneshwar Kumar made this century memorable. However, his century wasn’t enough as Delhi lost that match against SRH.

3. Yusuf Pathan – 100 against Mumbai Indians

Top10 IPL centuries
Top10 IPL centuries – Yusuf Pathan

This century will be always be remembered because it didn’t have a happy ending. Mumbai batted first and gave the target of 212 to Rajasthan. RR lost early wickets and it the match was already in Mumbai’s side. But there was still a twist in that mathc. Pathan came to bat and smashed nine fours and eight sixes in an astonishing 37ball innings. He almost took his team to victory before being run out for 100. Rajasthan lost the match as they fell short by 4 runs in chasing down Mumbai’s 212.

2. Brendon McCullum – 158* against Royal Challengers Bangalore

First ever IPL Century
First ever IPL Century – McCullum against RCB

McCullum’s century can be called as the foundation stone of Indian Premier League. IPL was introduced because fans wanted to see explosive gameplay. The first ever match of IPL was played between KKR and RCB. McCullum came as an opener and gave fans what they wanted exactly. He played a massive innings of 158 runs with 10 fours and 13 sixes. He was smashing RCB’s bowlers all over the field. Bowlers like Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar and Jacques Kallis were looking helpless against McCullum.

1. Chris Gayle – 175* against Pune Warriors India

chris gayle 175
Highest IPL score – chris gayle 175

Chris Gayle, famously known as the ‘Universe Boss’, wrote his name in the history of IPL with this century. Gayle’s 175 not out against Pune Warriors in IPL 2013 is the highest score by an individual in IPL’s history. 175 runs is quite good target for teams whereas Chris Gayle himself scored that much runs in a 20 over match. It was looking like the opposition team surrendered against Gayle as he scored 17 sixes and 13 boundaries and took his team to a massive total of 263 runs. With the help of his innings, RCB also set the record of highest runs scored by a team.

Read also :- Why Chris Gayle is called Universe Boss?