India’s tour of South Africa 2023-24 – Schedule and Squads

India’s tour of South Africa
India’s tour of South Africa

The Indian Cricket Team is all set to end 2023 with a tour to South Africa. The two teams will play against each other in all three formats of the game. India’s tour of South Africa will start with three T20Is, followed by three ODIs and two Tests. The two test matches will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle. Let’s take a look at India vs South Africa Schedule and squads of both nations.

India’s tour of South Africa 2023-24 Schedule

Date Match
10-Dec 1st T20, Durban
12 December 2nd T20, Gqeberha
14 December 3rd T20, Johannesburg
17 December 1st ODI, Johannesburg
19 December 2nd ODI, Gqeberha
21 December 3rd ODI, Paarl
26-30 December 1st Test, Centurion
3-7 January 2nd Test, Cape Town

India Vs South Africa Head to Head

Overall, South Africa holds an edge over India when it comes to bilateral.

Format India South Africa No Result
T20 13 10 1
ODI 38 50 3
Test 15 17

India Vs South Africa – Squads of both teams

Here are the squads of both India and South Africa.

India vs South Africa Squad
Indian Squad for South Africa Tour

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have requested rest from the white ball cricket and therefore the two veterans of the game won’t be a part of the ODI and T20I series. In the absence of Rohit, Suryakumar Yadav has been given the charge to lead the team in the T20I series against South Africa. For the ODIs, KL Rahul has been handed over the responsibility of leading the team. Rohit has been included in the Indian squad for Tests and he will lead the team in the longest format against South Africa.

India T20I squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India ODI squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India Test squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

South Africa Squad
South Africa Squad

Just like Virat and Rohit, two senior players of South Africa, Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada have also been rested for the ODIs against India. The two will return for Tests. Aiden Markram is the present captain of South Africa in T20 format and in the absence of Bavuma, he will lead the team in ODIs too.

South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams

South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams

South Africa Test squad: Temba Bavuma (c), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne