Who is the captain of KKR in IPL 2024?

Shreyas Iyer KKR Captain
Shreyas Iyer KKR Captain

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) have had various captains throughout their history. The franchise has been led by a number of popular players. However, the team got success after a long time. New Zealand opener B.McCullum served as the captain of KKR in the inaugural season of the IPL. After him, Sourav Ganguly, popularly known as DADA took over during the 2010 season. After Dada, Gambhir was appointed as the captain, and under his leadership, KKR went on to win their first IPL title in 2012. Gambhir continued to lead the team until 2017, making KKR a consistent performer in the IPL. After the departure of GG, KKR switched to different captains but didn’t find success. Let’s see who will be the captain of KKR in IPL 2024.

Who is the captain of KKR in IPL 2024?

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have appointed Shreyas Iyer as their new captain for IPL 2024 season. Shreyas Iyer will replace Nitish Rana as the skipper of KKR in IPL 2024. Nitish Rana was appointed the new captain after Shreyas Iyer was ruled out of IPL 2023 due to a back injury. Nitish Rana lead the team throughout IPL 2023 in absence of Iyer. Let’s take a look at KKR new captain 2024.

KKR IPL captain 2024

KKR captain
Shreyas Iyer is the captain of KKR in IPL 2024

Prior to the commencement of IPL 2024, KKR took to social media to announce Shreays Iyer as the new captain of the team. Iyer was initially the captain but he missed the 2023 edition due to injury. In his absence, Nitish Rana was appointed the skipper throughout the season. KKR finished seventh in the table.

Iyer made a return to the field in the 2023 Asia Cup in September-October. He was also a crucial player for Team India as the side reached the 2023 World Cup final last month. Rana has been named the vice-captain for the upcoming edition.

List of All KKR Captains

Player Period Matches Won Lost Win %
Sourav Ganguly 2008-2010 27 13 14 48.14
Brendon McCullum 2009-2009 13 3 9 23.07
Gautam Gambhir 2011-2017 122 69 51 56.55
Jacques Kallis 2011-2011 2 1 1 50
Dinesh Karthik 2018-2020 37 19 17 51.35
Eoin Morgan 2020-2021 24 11 12 45.83
Sheryas Iyer 2022-2022 14 6 8 42.85
Nitish Rana 2023-2023 14 6 8 42.85